Centriphery

Creative Europe – Centriphery

La Manufacture is one of the operators of the “Creative Europe 9 countries Centriphery” project of the European Commission.

This project is strategic for the Commission because it makes it possible to analyze innovations and good practices in artistic projects located on the outskirts of cities, regions or in rural areas, these territories which constitute the majority of concrete situations on European territory, and are therefore of interest to a majority of European citizens.

This project aims to exchange good practices, artists and the establishment of participatory and inclusive creations in these situations on the outskirts of European cities or regions.

La Manufacture has selected two artists from the Sud / Paca Region for this project, Fred Nevché, author, poet, musician, and Eric Minh Cuong Castaing, choreographer. They are each offered a creative residency in two major European venues or festivals each time with two artists from two other European countries, and create a project in Saint Chamand in the same way with two European artists from the program invited to France.

Eric Minh Cuong Castaing was able to create a project in the Netherlands in August 2019 as part of the great historical festival Cultura Nova, and Fred Nevché will create in 2022 a project in Finland in the main Finnish production theater, the Espoo City Theatre, on the outskirts of Helsinki.

In Saint-Chamand, they work with two artists from the Walk and Talk festival (Azores Islands, Portugal), the urban architects from Mezzo Atelier Giacomo Mezzadri and Joana Oliveira, and the videographer Rayna Teneva from the Goat Milk festival (Bulgaria).

TEMPORARY ARTISTIC ZONE

Voice, poetry, music Fred Nevche (fr) Choreography Eric Minh Cuong Castaing (fr) Video creation Rayna Teneva (Bulgaria) Urban architects, scenographers Mezzo Atelier, Giacomo Mezzadri, Joana Oliveira (Portugal / Italy)

A work of collecting, writing, and musical and vocal composition is underway, in particular with the Saint-Chamand women’s literacy group. A series of work residencies have been organized with European artists and from the South / Paca Region in interaction with local associations, actors of the territory and inhabitants, in particular through the creation of a human and social meeting space. between residents of the Saint-Chamand district, which does not have one.

 

The final form will be a sound tour where the public will be guided by the inhabitants of the territory, accompanied by a film presenting the specificities of the inhabitants of the district, seen by European artists also living in peripheral situations in the Azores and Bulgaria. The writing work is linked to the voice work, but not only it uses the auto-tune as a transgenerational vocal tool and the sound walk as a testimony to the history of the inhabitants.

It takes as its starting point musical works of the Maghrebian culture, such as Lili Boniche, the group of Kabyle singers Djurjura, or Mazouni, and more broadly all the Raï music in which we find this so particular vocal effect and that we call auto-tune (effect that synthesizes the voice and gives it a feeling of slight derailment, or derailment). Today, this vocal effect has spread to all current music and especially Rap, such as PNL, Ninho, Niska, Hamza, etc …). It will connect the older generations who knew it because it was used by Raï music in weddings, and by young people in today’s Rap and pop music more generally.

The work can take the form of voice recording (especially to respect people who do not want to be staged or filmed).

Centriphery is a Creative Europe 2018-2022 project in 9 countries co-funded by the European Commission. Fred Nevche and Eric Minh Cuong Castaing are artists associated with Centriphery. With the Festival Walk and Talk Festival (Azores, Portugal), the Festival Goat Milk (Bulgaria), the Festival Cultura Nova (Netherlands), Espoo City Theatre (Finland).
With the Cultural pole of Saint-Chamand, the annexed town hall of Saint-Chamand, the associations of Saint-Chamand.

Inscription Newsletter

Catégorie

Centriphery

Europe Créative – Centriphery

La Manufacture est un des opérateurs du projet “Europe Créative 9 pays Centriphery” de la Commission Européenne.

Ce projet est stratégique pour la Commission car il permet d’analyser les innovations et bonnes pratiques dans des projets artistiques en situation de périphérie de villes, de régions ou en ruralité, ces territoires qui constituent la majeure partie des situations concrètes sur le territoire européen, et intéressent donc une majorité de citoyens européens.

Ce projet vise à des échanges de bonnes pratiques, d’artistes et la mise en place de créations participatives et inclusives dans ces situations de périphérie de villes ou de régions européennes.

La Manufacture a sélectionné deux artistes de la Région Sud/Paca pour ce projet, Fred Nevché, auteur, poète, musicien, et Eric Minh Cuong Castaing, chorégraphe. Ils se voient chacun proposer une résidence de création dans deux grands lieux ou festivals européens chaque fois avec deux artistes de deux autres pays européens, et créent à Saint Chamand un projet de la même manière avec deux artistes européens du programme invités en France.

Eric Minh Cuong Castaing a pu créer un projet aux Pays-Bas en août 2019 dans le cadre du grand festival historique Cultura Nova, et Fred Nevché créera en 2022 un projet en Finlande dans le principal théâtre de production finlandais le Espoo City Theatre, en périphérie d’Helsinki.

À Saint-Chamand, ils travaillent avec deux artistes du festival Walk and Talk (Iles Açores, Portugal), les architectes urbanistes de Mezzo Atelier Giacomo Mezzadri et Joana Oliveira, et la vidéaste Rayna Teneva du festival Goat Milk (Bulgarie).

Europe Créative – Centriphery

ZONE ARTISTIQUE TEMPORAIRE (1h)

Voix, poésie, musique Fred Nevche (fr) Chorégraphie Eric Minh Cuong Castaing (fr) Création vidéo Rayna Teneva (Bulgarie) Architectes urbanistes, scénographes Mezzo Atelier, Giacomo Mezzadri, Joana Oliveira (Portugal/Italie)

Un travail de collecte, d’écriture et de composition musicale et vocale est en cours de réalisation notamment avec le groupe d’alphabétisation des femmes de Saint-Chamand. Une série de résidences de travail ont été organisées avec les artistes européens et de la Région Sud/Paca en interaction avec les associations locales, les acteurs du territoire et les habitants, au travers notamment de la création d’un espace de rencontre humaine et sociale entre habitants du quartier de Saint-Chamand, qui en est dépourvu.

La forme finale sera un parcours sonore où le public sera guidé par les habitants du territoire, accompagnée d’un film présentant des spécificités d’habitants du quartier, vu par des artistes européens vivant également des situations de périphéries aux Açores et en Bulgarie. Le travail d’écriture est lié au travail de la voix, mais pas uniquement il utilise l’auto-tune comme outil vocal transgénérationnel et la balade sonore comme témoignage des histoire des habitants.
Il prend comme base de départ des oeuvres musicales de la culture maghrébine, comme Lili Boniche, le groupe de chanteuses kabyles Djurjura, ou Mazouni, et plus largement toute la musique Raï dans lequel on trouve cet effet vocal si particulier et que l’on appelle l’auto-tune (effet qui synthétise la voix et lui donne une sensation de déraillement léger, ou dé-raï-ement). Aujourd’hui, cet effet vocal s’est démocratisé à l’ensemble des musiques actuelles et notamment au Rap, comme PNL, Ninho, Niska, Hamza, etc…). Il permettra de mettre en lien les anciennes générations qui le connaissaient car utilisé par la musique Raï dans les mariages, et par les jeunes dans le Rap d’aujourd’hui et la musique pop plus généralement.

Le travail pourra prendre la forme d’enregistrement de la voix (notamment pour respecter les personnes qui ne veulent pas être mises en scène ou filmées).

Centriphery est un projet Europe Créative 2018-2022 à 9 pays co-financé par la Commission Européenne. Fred Nevche et Eric Minh Cuong Castaing sont artistes associés à Centriphery. Avec le Festival Walk and Talk (Açores, Portugal), le Festival Goat Milk (Bulgarie), le Festival Cultura Nova (Pays-Bas), Espoo City Theatre (Finlande).
Avec le pôle Culturel de Saint-Chamand, la Mairie annexe de Saint-Chamand, les associations de Saint-Chamand.

Inscription Newsletter

Catégorie