The collective

LA MANUFACTURE,
CONTEMPORARY COLLECTIVE IN AVIGNON

OXYGENE, THE YEAR-ROUND PROJECT

Since 2001, La Manufacture has been promoting a differentiated approach to culture in the periphery for artists. We are an independent structure with the legal status of a 1901 law association.

Our project aims to bring out new governance, new creative paths, inclusive and participatory, unique and contemporary, hybrid, performative, some of which are presented as part of the International Festival of La Manufacture, in July every summer, allowing visibility public, professional and important media, and especially wide distribution.

We work on the disciplines of the performing arts, visual arts, performance but also the urban, rural and industrial heritage of the territory.

This work is mainly developed in the neighborhoods of the northeastern outskirts of Avignon, one of the poorest territories in France in terms of per capita income, in the context of coexistence with one of the major seasonal cultural events in Europe.

This territory is the center of one of the most important urban renewal programs in the State (NPRU – Nouveau Programme de Rénovation Urbaine, led by ANRU – Agence Nationale de Rénovation Urbaine) for the period 2020-2030. Worth 300 million euros, it concerns the rehabilitation of 1,400 housing units and will affect 25,000 inhabitants.

The year-round project is managed by a tight-knit team: Pascal Keiser, Julie Charrier, Jefel Goudjil (Mairies annexes de Saint Chamand and Rocade-Sud), Marie Albert (European projects) joined in 2021 by Frédéric Poty and Pierre Holemans.

Work on memorial sites

The year-round project, resulting from the experience of the team members in these approaches, voluntarily fits into a simplified approach: no manifesto or ostentatious physical place but offices shared with other associations at the foot of a HLM (French social housing) bar in Saint Chamand, the inclusion of residents, the neighborhood council in the governance of the project, the development of inclusive and participatory projects on a specific site in memorial places linked to the collective identity, making it possible to (re ) develop a common narrative.

The memorial sites we are working on are in particular those linked to the urbanization on the outskirts of the 1950s to 1970s north-east of Avignon, the memorial site of Camp des Milles, the former nuclear missile firing base for attack on the Albion plateau, sites linked to the memory of the industrialization of the territory such as the path and the Ocher conservatory in Roussillon.

A strategy to increase the skills of the public

Since 2005 and the work with the trainees of an ESAT-CAT (French network for disabled people), then from 2008 to 2012 with the creation of training sessions in digital tools and development of critical thinking with young people from the social center of Saint Chamand, we have developed strategies using artistic projects as a lever for social integration, for increasing the skills of the public.

This program continues today with our registration in the national network “Classe Départ”, a social re-employability program through a cycle of artistic training, an innovative social franchise piloted by l’Envol à Arras, with the Fondation la France s’ engages and the France Avenir Foundation. These projects are part of an approach to using art as a tool for social transformation.

A local, national and European network

We are developing a European, national and local networking strategy in our projects, in particular through the Creative Europe program of the European Commission, which allows us to network with 8 other important European cultural players also working in peripheral situations, or through the IETM network, the main European network of contemporary creation professionals.

Nationally, we are part of the “Classe Départ” network. At the local level, La Manufacture has won several political projects from the city and from the Ministry of Culture (DRAC Sud / PACA).

The year-round project is built on funding separate from that of the Festival.

Partners

  • The artists

  • The residents and neighborhood committees of the northeastern outskirts of Avignon, the social centers of Saint Chamand, La Barbière, La Croix des Oiseaux

  • The European Commission, Creative Europe

  • The State, via: Ministry of Culture, DRAC Sud-PAC / La Préfecture de Vaucluse

  • South-PACA region

  • Avignon town hall, Saint Chamand district town hall

  • The policy of the city of Grand Avignon: Prefecture of Vaucluse, South Region / PACA, Department of Vaucluse, Grand Avignon, City of Avignon, ANRU, ARS, social landlords

  • The national Classe Départ network, with centers located in Arras, Béthune, in the Yvelines and in Toulouse

  • Les Cités de emploi: Local youth mission of Greater Avignon, Insercall, the Second Chance School

THE INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL

The meaning of our approach

The operation of La Manufacture during the Festival has been positioned since 2001 as an alternative to the general operating mode of the Festival Off. It considers the situation of the territory, the difficulty of integrating the inhabitants of the peripheral areas to the Festival, the issues linked to festival seasonality. During the Festival, it offers an ethical, sustainable, inclusive framework that leaves a positive imprint, significant added value during the year and during the Festival on the territory and its inhabitants at the human, economic, social and cultural level.

Artistic projects at the center

We have always placed contemporary projects carried by artists at the center of our approach and have developed the La Manufacture tool accordingly. Since 2005, this has led us to associate a process of creating a place on the outskirts, by involving the public, with the significant development of the technical nature of our stages and their modularity in order to respond to the formal evolution of demands and formats of contemporary creators, and the demands of an international festival presenting 7 to 8 shows per room and per day. Today La Manufacture tool consists of an intramural pocket room (7 × 8 m platform), and two large modular and flexible platforms, the Chateau (10 × 15 m platform) and the Saint Chamand ice rink (Platform 14 × 14 m).

In addition, following artists’ requests, we have developed a strategy of satellite locations indoors or on specific sites for singular, hybrid projects, often for small gauges, for which we have ensured and assumed the programming within the framework of the Festival, and facilitated national and international distribution.

The parameters that we consider important to support current contemporary creations are in particular (Chateau and Ice Rink) technical equipment at the level of French national main stages, large-scale and single-storey platforms allowing a contemporary vision report, storage single-storey decors to reduce assembly / disassembly times, a warm-up / rehearsal room, 40 minutes between shows allowing peaceful changes, the possibility of working in two-way or four-way frontal, a technical team and Significant HR (28 people in operation, including 8 technicians in company management monitoring).

We combine this with a commitment to territorial equity by employing 4 young people from the political districts of the city on fixed-term contracts in our team of 28 employees during the Festival, with positions of responsibility.

The governance

Since 2008, the programme of the International Festival at La Manufacture has been carried out in a collective approach. From 2008 to 2012, a collective of artists associated with the team produced it, it has since been managed by a tight collective of 5 people around Pascal Keiser, the founder of La Manufacture: Emilie Audren, Agathe Jeanneau, Mael Le Goff and Pierre Holemans, the latter focusing on new international projects in 2021.

The economic model

In 2019, the International Festival at La Manufacture presented more than 35 projects from 11 countries, nearly 700 performances on 3 main sites (intramural, Saint Chamand Castle, Saint Chamand ice rink) and 5 satellite sites. We welcomed 35,000 spectators including 15,000 professional admissions.

The general context of the Festival Off and specific to La Manufacture makes any financial equilibrium of the operation based on ticketing receipts impossible: low ticket prices (€ 12 with an Off card, while the same show will be seen in Paris around € 30 ), high level of professional admissions bring total ticketing revenues of around 250 to 300 k € for places in working order requiring, according to our qualitative criteria, a budget of 450 k €.

This is the reason why we work on a rental basis, the only one possible in our operating environment.

A co-production mode of operation would lead to a drastic reduction in the quality of equipment and human resources made available to companies.

We position ourselves in the public service register, with our team members working there year-round. We program artists whose companies are subsidized by the public authorities for their visit to Avignon, the support of our rental is assumed indirectly by the public authorities.

Inscription Newsletter

Catégorie

Un projet collectif

La Manufacture
Collectif contemporain à Avignon

Oxygène, le projet à l’année

Depuis 2001, La Manufacture essaime une approche différenciée de la culture en périphérie pour les artistes. Nous sommes une structure indépendante avec le statut juridique d’association loi 1901.

Notre projet vise à faire émerger des gouvernances nouvelles, de nouveaux chemins de création, inclusifs et participatifs, singuliers et contemporains, hybrides, performatifs, dont certains sont présentés dans le cadre du Festival International de La Manufacture, en juillet chaque été, permettant une visibilité publique, professionnelle et médiatique importante, et surtout une diffusion large.

Nous travaillons sur les disciplines des arts vivants, des arts visuels, de la performance mais aussi du patrimoine urbain, rural et industriel du territoire.
Ce travail se développe principalement dans les quartiers de la périphérie nord est d’Avignon, un des territoires les plus pauvres de France en revenu par habitant, dans le contexte de la coexistence avec un des évènements culturels saisonniers majeurs en Europe.

Ce territoire est le centre d’un des plus importants programmes de rénovation urbaine de l’État (NPRU – Nouveau Programme de Rénovation Urbaine, piloté par l’ANRU – Agence Nationale de Rénovation Urbaine) pour la période 2020-2030. D’un montant de 300 millions d’euros, il concerne la réhabilitation de 1.400 logements et touchera 25.000 habitants.

Le projet à l’année est géré par une équipe soudée : Pascal Keiser, Julie Charrier, Jefel Goudjil (Maries annexes de Saint Chamand et Rocade-Sud), Marie Albert (projets européens) rejoints courant 2021 par Frédéric Poty et Pierre Holemans.

Le travail sur les sites mémoriels

Le projet à l’année, issu de l’expérience des membres de l’équipe dans ces approches, s’inscrit volontairement dans une démarche simplifiée : pas de manifeste ni de lieu physique ostentatoire mais des bureaux partagés avec d’autres associations au pied d’une barre HLM à Saint Chamand, l’inclusion des habitants, du conseil de quartier dans la gouvernance du projet, le développement de projets inclusifs et participatifs en site spécifique dans des lieux mémoriels liés à l’identité collective, permettant de (re)développer un récit commun.

Les sites mémoriels sur lesquels nous travaillons sont notamment ceux liés à l’urbanisation en périphérie des années 1950 à 1970 du nord est d’Avignon, le site mémoriel du Camp des Milles, l’ancienne base de tir de missiles nucléaires d’attaque sur le plateau d’Albion, les sites liés à la mémoire de l’industrialisation du territoire comme le sentier et le conservatoire des Ocres à Roussillon.

Une stratégie de montée en compétence des publics

Depuis 2005 et le travail avec les stagiaires d’un ESAT-CAT, puis de 2008 à 2012 avec la création de sessions de formations aux outils numériques et de développement de l’esprit critique avec les jeunes du centre social de Saint Chamand, nous avons développé des stratégies utilisant les projets artistiques comme levier d’insertion sociale, de montée en compétence des publics.

Ce programme se poursuit aujourd’hui dans notre inscription dans le réseau national “Classe Départ“, un programme de réemployabilité sociale par un cycle de formations artistiques, une franchise sociale innovante pilotée par l’Envol à Arras, avec la Fondation la France s’engage et la Fondation France Avenir. Ces projets s’inscrivent dans une approche d’utilisation de l’art comme outil de transformation sociale.

Un maillage local, national et européen

Nous développons une stratégie de maillage européen, national et local dans nos projets, notamment par le biais du programme Europe Créative de la Commission Européenne, qui nous permet une mise en réseau avec 8 autres acteurs culturels européens importants oeuvrant également dans des situations de périphérie, ou par le réseau IETM, le principal réseau européen des professionnels de la création contemporaine.

À l’échelle nationale, nous nous inscrivons dans le réseau « Classe Départ » de l’Envol.
À niveau local, La Manufacture est lauréate de plusieurs projets politique de la ville et du Ministère de la Culture (DRAC Sud/PACA).

Le projet à l’année est construit sur des financements distincts de ceux du Festival.

Partenaires

  • Les artistes
  • Les habitants et les comités de quartier de la périphérie Nord-Est d’Avignon, les centres sociaux de Saint Chamand, de la Barbière, de la Croix des Oiseaux
  • La Commission Européenne, Europe Créative
  • L’État, via : Ministère de la Culture, DRAC Sud-PAC / La Préfecture de Vaucluse
  • Région Sud-PACA
  • Mairie d’Avignon, Mairie de quartier de Saint Chamand
  • La politique de la ville du Grand Avignon : Préfecture de Vaucluse, Région Sud/PACA, Département de Vaucluse, Grand Avignon, Ville d’Avignon, ANRU, ARS, les bailleurs sociaux
  • Le Réseau national Classe Départ, avec des centres situés à Arras, Béthune, dans les Yvelines et à Toulouse
  • Les Cités de l’emploi : Mission locale jeunes du Grand Avignon, Insercall, l’École de la deuxième chance

Le Festival International

Le sens de notre démarche

L’exploitation de La Manufacture lors du Festival se positionne depuis 2001 comme une alternative au mode opératoire général du Festival Off. Elle tient compte de la situation du territoire, de la difficulté d’intégrer les habitants des zones périphériques au Festival, des problématiques liées à la saisonnalité festivalière. Elle propose pendant le Festival un cadre éthique, durable, inclusif qui laisse une empreinte positive, une valeur ajoutée significative pendant l’année et durant le Festival sur le territoire et ses habitants au niveau humain, économique, social et culturel.

Les projets artistiques au centre

Nous avons toujours placé les projets contemporains portés par les artistes au centre de notre démarche et avons développé l’outil La Manufacture en conséquence. Cela nous a amenés dès 2005 à associer une démarche de création de lieu en périphérie, en y associant les publics, au développement significatif de la technicité de nos salles et de leur modularité afin de répondre à l’évolution formelle des demandes et des formats des créateurs contemporains, et aux exigences d’un festival international présentant 7 à 8 spectacles par salle et par jour. Aujourd’hui l’outil Manufacture se compose d’une salle de poche en intramuros (plateau 7×8 m), et de deux grands plateaux modulables et flexibles, le Chateau (plateau 10×15 m) et la Patinoire de Saint Chamand (plateau .14×14 m).

En complément, nous avons développé suite aux demandes des artistes une stratégie de lieux satellites en intérieur ou en site spécifique pour des projets singuliers, hybrides, souvent pour jauges réduites, dont nous avons assuré et assumé la programmation dans le cadre du Festival, et facilité la diffusion nationale et internationale.

Les paramètres que nous considérons comme importants pour accompagner les créations contemporaines actuelles sont notamment (Chateau et Patinoire) un équipement technique de type plateau CDN ou scène nationale, des plateaux de grande dimension et de plain-pied permettant un rapport de vision contemporain, un stockage décors de plain-pied permettant de réduire les temps de montage/démontage, une salle de chauffe/répétitions, un temps de 40 minutes entre spectacles permettant des changement apaisés, la possibilité de travailler en bi-tri ou quadri frontal, une équipe technique et RH importante (28 personnes en exploitation, dont 8 techniciens en suivi des régies compagnies).

Nous y associons un engagement d’équité territoriale en salariant en CDD 4 jeunes issus des quartiers politique de la ville dans notre équipe de 28 salariés durant le Festival, avec des fonctions à responsabilité.

La gouvernance

La programmation du Festival International à La Manufacture est depuis 2008 réalisée dans une approche collective. De 2008 à 2012, un collectif d’artistes associé à l’équipe l’a réalisée, elle est depuis gérée par un collectif resserré de 5 personnes autour de Pascal Keiser, le fondateur de La Manufacture : Emilie Audren, Agathe Jeanneau, Mael Le Goff et Pierre Holemans, ce dernier s’orientant vers des projets internationaux nouveaux en 2021.

Le modèle économique

Le Festival International à La Manufacture présentait en 2019 plus 35 projets issus de 11 pays, près de 700 représentations sur 3 sites principaux (intramuros, Château de Saint Chamand, Patinoire de Saint Chamand) et 5 sites satellites. Nous avons accueilli 35.000 spectateurs dont 15.000 entrées professionnelles.

Le contexte général du Festival Off et spécifique de La Manufacture rend tout équilibre financier de l’exploitation fondé sur les recettes billetterie impossible : faible tarif des places (12 € avec carte Off, alors que le même spectacle sera vu à Paris autour de 30 €), niveau élevé d’entrées professionnelles amènent des rentrées de billetterie totales de l’ordre de 250 à 300 k€ pour des lieux en ordre de marche nécessitant suivant nos critères qualitatifs un budget de 450 k€.
C’est la raison pour laquelle nous travaillons sur une base de location, la seule envisageable dans notre cadre de fonctionnement.

Un mode de fonctionnement en co-réalisation amènerait à une réduction drastique de la qualité des équipements et des ressources humaines mises à disposition des compagnies.

Nous nous positionnons dans le registre du service public, les membres de notre équipe y travaillant à l’année. Nous programmons des artistes dont les compagnies sont subventionnées par les pouvoirs publics pour leur venue à Avignon, la prise en charge de notre location est assumée indirectement par les pouvoirs publics.

Inscription Newsletter

Catégorie